The Navarro Mills Community
Historical Marker
Dawson, Navarro County, Texas


Historical Markers || Navarro Mills Community



Photo by Dana Stubbs


The Navarro Mills Community

A Flour mill built here in the 1860s drew pioneer commerce to this site.  Flour was a luxury used mostly for yeast bread, cakes, and biscuits served on Sundays or special occasions.  People traveled for considerable distances with their wheat, and waited sometimes for days to have it ground.  The original mill property was bought from R. A. Younger in 1867 by John Summers and sons.  Several local residents owned shares in ensuing years.  The waters of Rock Creek furnished power.  Besides this mill and a cotton gin, there may have been other mills here.

The Navarro Mills post office opened in 1874.   A store, school, blacksmith shop, and other facilities were developed.  Local leaders included Confederate veterans W. C. French (1821-97) and R. J. Wright (1837-1926)

The flour mill ceased operating in 1881.  The post office closed in 1882.  To be revived only briefly in later years.  The community continued to thrive however.  An 1880s newcomer was a former county judge, James C. Key (1817-1910), whose surname survives in the landmark Tandy Key road.

The cemetery, the Baptist Church that was formed in 1901, and the tabernacle built in 1915 mark the site of the historic village. (1976)

Location: 4 miles NE of Dawson, on FM 667, via SH 31

The text of the historical markers have been posted here with the permission of the Texas Historical Commission

Navarro County TXGenWeb
Copyright February, 2020
Edward L. Williams