State Home
1930 Commencement
Corsicana, Navarro County, Texas


Schools Index || IOOF & State Home Index


XIX Century Club Honors State Home Seniors on Friday

   Friday afternoon, June 3, members of the XIX Century Club, drove out in their cars to the State Home for the thirty graduates of the class of 1930, and took them to the country club for dinner.

   Bright spring flowers in every available niche and corner lent their beauty and gracefulness to the already attractive club room, where tables were attractively arranged for the lovely three course dinner.

   The girls and boys chose their partners by means of a unique flower game. During the progress of the dinner, the guests wore entertained with contests led by the club president, Mrs. Charles G. Jester and Mrs. Robert Watt, Then charmingly obliging, the following seniors contributed songs and readings to the evening's program: Helen Moore, Weldon Bryant, Earl Allverson, Herman Parsons and Frank Hayes.

   The affair ended with an expression of appreciation by the class president, Oscar James Baker, and then amid adieus, assurances were given, of the pleasure derived in entertaining such attractive young folks.

   The following is a list of the graduates:  Hazelle Knight, Lydia Jackson, Helen Montfort Moore, Helen Elizabeth Blackburn, Etta Labertha Brae, Milly Ruth Owens, Lucille McAdory, Mary Higgins, Frances Elizabeth Britton, Carol Jean Richardson, Lillian Moore, Linnie Hudson, Ruth Little. Myrl Little, Berdie Knight, Mary Bess Reid, Otis Jerry Davenport. Ermon A. Richmond, Oscar James Baker, president; Ernest L. Mader, Earle Edward Allverson, Weldon Robert Bryant, Frank Ellsworth, Ben F. Williams, Herman Edward Parsons, Leon S. Bly, John Allen Sheppard, Benjamin Franklin Hayes, Jr., James Henry Morton, Henderson Claude Earle.

The Corsicana Daily Sun  -  Monday, June 16, 1930
Submitted by
Diane Richards


Navarro County TXGenWeb
Copyright February, 2020
Edward L. Williams