1938 State Home
Corsicana, Navarro County, Texas


Schools Index || IOOF & State Home Index




Commencement exercises for the graduating class of the State Home High school were held Thursday night and diplomas were awarded to 23 boys and 23 girls. Class honors were also divided, Charles White being valedictorian and Madeline Ratliff, salutatorian.

The class address was delivered by Dr. Roy A. Langston, pastor of the First Methodist church.

Members of the class took their place on the state as the orchestra played “Father of His Country” as the processional. They were accompanied by J. S. Hailey, Superintendent; Dr. Langston, speaker; J. S. Callicutt and E. E. Sheehay, trustees, and B. A. Jerrries, principal of the school.

Following the invocation by Rev. M. W. Bergeson, chaplain, the girls’ glee club sang “To a Wild Rose” by Edward Mac Dowell.

The welcome address was given by Bill Perkins, president of the class, and the valedictory address, “The Abundant Life, “ by Charles White.

One of the features of the musical program was a cello solo by Walter who played his own composition “Schoolmates.” He was accompanied by Miss Rosa Baade.

Other Musician Numbers.
Other musical numbers on the program included “Come to the Fair” by the glee club, the class song, “When the Golden Sun is Melting,: and the recessional, “The Color Guard,: played by the orchestra.

Diplomas were awarded by Mr. Jeffries.

Judge J. S. Callicutt presented the Roger Q. Mills award to the winner in debate and the Carrie Mills award in home economics to Gaylon Thornton and Rose Mary Penhale, respectively. Major C. H. Mills started these awards several years ago in honor of his father and mother and they are being continued by Mrs. Mills. Judge Callicutt gave an eloquent eulogy of Senator R. Q. Mills and his wife, Carrie Mills, and also complimented Mrs. C. H. Mills on retaining the awards. Winner of first place in these contests received $20.

Pearl Delaney won second prize in the home economics department and Dorothy Lucile Britton, third. Each of these winners were presented $5, Marks Bros. and J. M. Dyer Co. making the awards.

Kelton Story Award.
The Kelton award of $20 for the best short story went to Mildred Inez Hallmark and the second prize of $10 went to Albert Reed.

Madeline Ratliff won second prize last year and received the $10 Thursday night. The rule in making the awards is that the winner must graduate from the Home before receiving the prize. Last year Miss Ratliff, a junior won second place and the money was withheld in keeping with the rules. Dr. Leslie Kelton made the awards which he said were given by the Kelton family. There were 17 participants in the short story writing contest this year.

Miss Thelma Berger offered a prize of $2.50 to the student who read the most books and made the best selections of literature to read. This award went to Jeanne Clemens.

Bill Perkins was president of the class; R. P. Locke, vice president and Ida Lee McGinty, secretary. The class had as its motto “Sailing, Not Drifting.” The colors were maroon and white and the class flower white rose.

The Class Roll:

Girls—Dorothy Lucille Britton, Rosalie Jeanne Clemens, Pearl Delaney, Alpha Sue Davis, Sybil Juanita Freeman, Renna Mae Franklin, Mary Alice Glover, Grace Ellen Holland, Ruth Hubbard, Mildred Inez Hallmark, Lois Mitchell, Mary Louise Maddox, Eva Fern Mitchell, Bettie Lou Montgomery, Ida Lee McGinty, Agnes Bernice Powers, Clara Mildred Powers, Rose Mary Penhale, Lila Madeline Ratliff, Lora Bernice Tindel, Margaret Wood, Dorothy Lee Wheeler, Juanita Louise Young.

Boys—J. W. Blevins, William F. Benson, Walter Charles Bell, Bill Clarence Britton, Alfred Coop, Harry Gardner, Lawrence Winford Hartwell, Ernest E. Hubbard, W. O. Johnson, R. P. Locke, George Frederick Millard, Albert Reed, Claude Dentson McHorse, Bill Marion Perkins, J. B. Reed, Austin Sharp, Ben G. Smith, Dean Thompson, Jimmie Woodrow Tarrer, Gaylon Clark Thornton, Arthur Theis, Chaarles Raymond White, Herman Welch.



Navarro County TXGenWeb
© Copyright February, 2020
Edward L. Williams