1942 State Home
Corsicana, Navarro County, Texas


Schools Index || IOOF & State Home Index



Thirty-three graduates, 19 girls and 14 boys, will receive diplomas from the State Home high school at the commencement exercises Monday night at 8 o’clock in the main auditorium of the Home.

Gov. Coke R. Stevenson will deliver the class address. He will be introduced by Robert Calvert, former speaker of the Texas house of representatives and a graduate of the home.

Diplomas will be presented by Weaver H. Baker, chairman of the state board of control.

A number of awards for various activities will also be made at the exercises.

Following is the program:
Processional: The Color Guard……..W. M. Felton Orchestra

Invocation………Rev. M. W. Bergeson

Piano Duet: March Militaire “Suite Algerienne”……C. Saint-Sens, Misses Juanita Smith, Claudia Jones

Salutatory Address……..Miss Cecil Maxwell

Song: Bells of St. Mary’s…….A. Emmett Adams, Misses Georgia Fletcher, Amalene Johnson, Mary Ruth Rainey, Ruth Young, Elsie Walker, Mildred Farrell, Claudia Jones

Valedictory Address……Miss Georgia Fletcher

Violin Solo: Melody in F……A. Rubinstein- Miss Mary Evelyn Dean

Song: Texas, Our Texas……W. J. Marsh

Commencement Address….Gov. Coke R. Stevenson

Special Awards……Supt. John H. Robertson
(Kelton; Roger Q. Mills) (Creamery Certificates: Red Cross First Aid Certificates)

(Presentation of Diplomas……Hon. Weaver H. Baker, Chairman, State Board of Control

Song: Farewell to Thee (Alo-ha Oe)……Queen Lilinokalana ….Class

Prayer…..Rev. A. W. DeGuire

Recessional: Auld Lang Syne……Scotch Air

The Class roll follows:

Class Roll.

Girls—Jewel Louise Fagan, Georgia Juanita Fletcher, Mary Frances Highnote, Claudia Lee Jones, Helen Montgomery, Lorene Ratliff, Helen Bernice Shaw, Martha Sue Thrasher, Wilma Lois Welch, Annie Mildred Farrell, Ruth Christine Hallmark, Amalene Johnson, Cecil Ellalene Maxwell, Mary Ruth Raney, Louise Reed, Juanita Esther Smith, Elsie Gertrude Walker, Dorothy Louise Wright, Ruth Mildred Young.

Boys—Wallace Armstrong, LeRoy Bell, James Monroe Gann, Eugene Mitchell, Leland Frank Phillips, Oakley Curtis Reed, Wallace Thomas, Jimmie Banister, Hubert Franklin Dickinson, Bobby Johnson, Claude Lee Monk, Leon Purvis, Ernest Everett Smith, Elmer Lee Wann.



Navarro County TXGenWeb
© Copyright February, 2020
Edward L. Williams