1948 State Home
Corsicana, Navarro County, Texas


Schools Index || IOOF & State Home Index


SH Graduation Exercises Will Be Held Tonight

Commencement exercises for the thirty-three members of the graduating class at the Corsicana State Home will be held at 8 o’clock tonight, May 21, in the auditorium there, with City Attorney Julius Jacobs as the commencement speaker.

Marvin Rawls will deliver the valedictory address, and Louise Gragg the salutatory speech.

Others on the commencement program are Supt. Moyne Kelly, Rev. Durward Geddie, W. C. Murdock, Dr. L. E. Kelton Jr., John Corner, Mrs. Finis Farr, Miss Oma Lee Campbell and Margie Williard.

The Corsicana Daily Sun - Friday, May 21, 1948 – Submitted by Diane Richards



Thirty-three graduated of the Corsicana State Home received their diplomas Friday night in impressive commencement exercises held in the auditorium at the home here. City Attorney Julius Jacobs of Corsicana made the address.

Jacobs told the graduates that nearly all those who receive their high school diplomas are at the stage when they are uncertain as to what they may do, and confused as to what they should do with the life before them.

“Believe in yourself and in humanity, and you have no reason to fear the future,” he told them. “Love your work and you will succeed.”

Lamp of Experience.
“Patrick Henry once said, ‘My feet are guided by one lamp only and that is the Lamp of Experience.’ Out of the Lamp of Experience I give you this suggestion; No form of government in the world is comparable to a free democracy. You should be convinced that the United States is the best, since you have only to look to see that half the peoples of the world are living in subjugation and in constant fear of their lives,” the speaker said.

Marvin Rawls, who delivered the valedictory address, finished his high school career with a four year average of 92.1.

Louise Gragg, the salutatory speaker, had an average of 90.2.

Diplomas Awarded.
Diplomas were awarded to the following:

Boys—Braxton Andrews, Ralph Balentine, Clifton Beischner, Virgil Creacy, Charles Cunningham, Arthur Herrington, Charles Jones, Lee Lawrence, Charles Murdock, Bill Phillips, Waymond Perona, Prentice Phillips, George Phinnel, Jimmy Pillows, Marvin Rawls, Loveless Redding and Charles Roberts.

Girls—Lorene Cawthorn, Margie Dillard, Eva Leta Downey, Louise Gragg, Bobbie Jean Hambrick, Bettie Jean Hilliard, Edith Land, Patsy Lawrence, Martha Nell Mann, Betty Lou Phillips, Mertie Jo Smith, Helen Smotherman, Hazel Smotherman, Johnnie Spencer, Margaret Weaver and Hessie Marie Young.

Superintendent Moyne L. Kelly presented the diplomas, assisted by W. C. Murdock and John Corner.

Special Awards were made to the graduates, and to other members of the Home who were not on the graduation list.

Dr. L. E. Kelton made the Kelton Short Story Awards. This year’s first prize went to Martha Nell Mann, and second prize went to Margie Dillard. Both of them were Seniors.

Similar awards went to last
Years winners, who could not receive their prizes until graduation this year, and were juniors at the time they won. Buck Phillips took last year’s first prize, and Martha Nell Mann took last year’s second prize.

Special awards were presented to the following:

Cosmetology—Laverne Cawthorn, Mertie Jo Smith, Hessie Marie Young, Edith Land.

Mechanics—Clifton Beischenr, Prentice Phillips, Arthur Herrington, Marvin Rawls, Lee Lawrence, Loveless Redding, Jimmy Pillows, George Phinnel, Virgil Creacy, and Charles Jones.

Secretarial—Patsy Lawrence, Betty Lou Phillips, Edith Land, Margie Dillard, Bobby Jean Hambrick, Helen Smotherman, Margaret Weaver, and Louise Gragg.

Typing—Emma Alford, Dorothy Carl, Joyce Alford, Roy Taylor, Gene Downey, Dovie Pillows, Lucille Fowler, Frances Lynch, Mary Scott, Charline Dickson, Albert Taber, Lloyd Cross, Reagan Carpenter, John Erzen, jo Dan Wells, Frank Fore, Beryl Sanders, Madeline Bromagen and Tramon Elrod.

Girl Most Likely to Succeed—Betty Jean Hilliard.
Best Girl Athlete—Eva Leta Downey.
Best Boy Athlete—Jimmy Pillows.
Most Popular Girl—Margie Dillard.
Most Popular Boy—Marvin Rawls.
Most Representative Girl—Eva Leta Downey.
Best Girl Citizen—Margie Dilliard.
Most Beautiful Girl—Patsy Lawrence
Best Boy Citizen—Charles Murdock
Boy Most Likely to Succeed—Charles Jones
Most Representative Boy—Charles Jones
Handsomest Boy—Charles Cunningham

Other program features were the processional and recessional music by Miss Oma Lee Campbell, a piano solo by Margie Dilliard, a violin solo by Mrs. Finis Farr, two songs in unison by the senior class, and the Presentation of the class by John H. Corner.

Rev. Durward Geddie gave the invocation.

The Corsicana Daily Sun - Saturday, May 22, 1948 – Submitted by Diane Richards



Navarro County TXGenWeb
© Copyright February, 2020
Edward L. Williams