1952 State Home
Corsicana, Navarro County, Texas


Schools Index || IOOF & State Home Index


12 At State Home Receive Diplomas

Daily Sun Staff.

Twelve Corsicana State Home students receive high school diplomas in an impressive commencement ceremony Monday night in the Home auditorium here.

The ceremony departed from the traditional commencement form, yet it retained the most important parts and blended them into a choralogue by Helen Q. Lathers, entitled “From This Day Forward.”

Home Graduates
Graduating from the Home were Josephine Fielding, Betty Sue Rice, Kenneth McCulloch, Bobbie Ruth Bateman, Barbara Belschner, Sidney Culver, Jr., Dolphus Lee Darnell, Althera Pillows, Delta Rainey, Wanda Lou Rice, Huey Rash and Betty Ruth Smotherman.

Josephine Fielding, valedictorian, and Betty Sue Rice, salutatorian, stood upstage and conversed with “The Voice of Alma Mater,” played by Principal O. R. Scott, while the other graduates were seated on the stage. There were no individual addresses by the two highest-ranking students.

The voice challenged the graduates to go out into the world and “From This Day Forward dare and do and grow. You came as children, but you leave as women and men.”

Dr. Kelton Presents Awards
Dr. L. E. Kelton presented the annual short story awards and first prize went to Josephine Fielding, valedictorian, Second prize went to Lois Perry, a junior student.

Dr. Kelton told the graduates, “When you leave that front door
Tonight you are still my children. My obligation isn’t ended.”

Supt. R. I. Boyd, Jr., presented the “Best Citizens” awards to Betty Sue Rice and Dolphus Darnell.

Class Favorites
Boyd also read nominations by the class for its favorites. Most likeable students were Betty Sue Rice and Huey Rush; most popular boy was Dolphus Darnell; most popular girl was Bobbie Bateman; most beautiful girl was Barbara Belschner; most handsome boy was Huey Rush; and best all-around students were Dolphus Darnell and Barbara Belschner.

Typing awards, presented to both graduate and undergraduate students went to Gertie Fade, Barbara Belschner, Josephine Fielding, Mattie Sue Jones, Wanda Nell Robinson, Cora Mae Smith, Riley Rodgers, Loretta McManus, Raymond McFarland, Annelle Fletcher, Billy Harry, Roy Lee May, Bobby Tomerlin, Mary Bearden, Betty Belschner.

Shorthand awards were presented to Gertie Fade, Jo Ann Stroud and Mattie Sue Jones.

Machine shop awards went to Sidney Culver, Jr., Dolphus Darnell, Huey Rush and Kenneth McCulloch.

Members Cast
Participants in the choralogue were:

Voice of Alma Mater----O. R. Scott
Valedictorian—Josephine Fielding
Salutatorian---Betty Sue Rice
Superintendent…Robert I. Boyd, Jr.
Faculty Member---Bill Elliott
Alumnus---Mrs. Katie LeMay
Speaking Chorus---Graduating Class Members
Boy Speaker----Bobbie Ruth Bateman
Keepers of the Flame----Junior Class Members
Waltzers----Mary Dean Cole and Billy Bob Wells; Sue Jones and Warner Griffin
Pianist---Miss Oma Lee Campbell
Ushers---Roy Lee May and Billy Bob Wells

The Corsicana Daily Sun - Tuesday, May 27, 1952 - Submitted by Diane Richards


Navarro County TXGenWeb
© Copyright February, 2020
Edward L. Williams