Blooming Grove United Methodist Church
Blooming Grove, Navarro County, Texas


Religion Index || Blooming Grove Community


Photo by Edward L. Williams


The Blooming Groves Times
Vol XLIX No 52
June 28, 1940

Photo First Methodist Church

The First Methodist Church in Blooming Grove was organized about 1890 by L.D. Simpson, S.A. Hodges, A.A. Roberts, Hinton C. Ivy, J.P. Willeford and others and the first house of worship was erected on the present site soon after organization.  It is not known if any charter member of the church survives.

The church has a present membership of 262 and is active through its auxiliaries in all the phases of the work of the denomination.  The church building now in use was built in 1913 under the pastorate of Dr. E.B. Hawk.

Throughout almost all of the history of the church there has been an active Woman's Missionary Society. Mrs. Maggie Richards, the only surviving charter members, is still active in the work.

Pastors who have served this church are Bros Majors, Musset, Vughn, Galligar, Odom, Clark, Evans, Wiseman, Chappell, Hawk, Bryan, Herron, Little, Walker, Clark, Wagoner, Kornagee, Morton, Story, Shuler, Noe, Utley, Whitefield, McDaniel and Van P. Morrison.

Navarro Co. Deed Bk 70 pg 65
Lots 1 & 2 of Block R.   March 28, 1894
W.D. Grady & wife Henrietta, S.W. Grimes, A.S. Henny, Geo T. Jester sold for $100 to Trustees of M.E.C. (Methodist Episcopal Church) Blooming Grove: A.S. Gill, Hinton C. Ivy, David Maggard, J.R. Frost.

Submitted by Virginia Crilley



Navarro County TXGenWeb
Copyright March, 2009
Edward L. Williams & Barbara Knox