The Kerens Post Office
Navarro County, Texas


Kerens Community


The Kerens Post Office
Information compiled by Joe M. Daniel, Oct 9, 1962
Originally published in "The Navarro County Scroll", 1962
Reprinted with permission of the Navarro County Historical Society

One June 20, 1858, the Rush Creek Post Office was authorized and opened in Jim Person's store which  was situated in the grove of postoak trees where Will Sidney Price has his home on State Highway 31, three miles west of Kerens.  It was named Rush Creek for the small stream that runs about one hundred yards north of its original location.  It was the second post office authorized for the eastern half of Navarro County, the first was Chatfield, and opened about four years earlier.  The following is the chronological order of the postmasters to serve this office.

N. J. Mills
This office was discontinued Sept. 3, 1858 - reestablished July 5, 1859
June 20, 1858
Beverly M. Berry July 5, 1859
John Whatley
Office changed to Wadeville August 30, 1871
August 3, 1866
John Whatley
This office was discontinued March 11, 1872 and reestablished May 2, 1872
August 30, 1871
Theophelous S. Daniel May 2, 1872
Sanders P. Day
Office changed to Kerens May 26, 1862
February 9, 1873
Saunders P. Day May 26, 1882
Fletcher S. Zackery August 29, 1883
James S. Caldwell August 28, 1889
John W. Merrow February 26, 1892
John N. Perry September 5, 1893
John W. Merrow March 14, 1898
Charles E. Smith August 15, 1906
Charles T. McConnico December 29, 1923
Charles E. Smith - acting April 17, 1923
Charles E. Smith December 19, 1923
John C. Clayton - acting May 1, 1936
John C. Clayton May 19, 1936
H. P. McCown April 8, 1947
B. P. Berry
The office was advanced to 3rd class January 1, 1904.
The office was advanced to 2nd class July 1, 1925
The office was reclassed 3rd class July 1, 1932
April 19, 1956

In the one-hundred-four years that the post office has served this area it has been in three location; Rush Creek, thirteen years; Wadeville, eleven years, and Kerens, eighty years.  Three men served postmaster as Rush Creek, three at Wadeville, and sixteen have served at Kerens.

Navarro County TXGenWeb
Copyright March, 2009
Edward L. Williams & Barbara Knox