Navarro County Courthouse
Historical Marker
Corsicana, Navarro County, Texas


Historical Markers || Navarro County Courthouse


Navarro County Courthouse

Navarro County was created in 1846 by an act of the first Texas legislature. It was named for early statesman Jose Antonio Navarro (1795-1871), A signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence. The first county seat was established at the home of William R. Howe, an early settler on the Waxahachie creek in present-day Ellis County. In 1848, Corsicana was designated the seat of government, and temporary offices were set up in the home of pioneer Hampton McKinney.

The first permanent courthouse for Navarro County was a log cabin located on the corner of West Avenue and Twelfth Street. A second courthouse, built at this site in 1853, burned in 1855. Requiring the construction of a third building. In 1880, Austin architect F. E. Ruffini designed a fourth courthouse for Navarro County. The elaborately ornate building proved too small for the needs of the growing county, and a shifting foundation caused the structure to be condemned in 1904.

The present courthouse was designed by architect J. E. Flanders of Dallas. Constructed of red Burnet granite and gray brick, it was completed in 1905. The Beaux Arts Classical Revival structure features a clock dome and a pedimental entryway with free-standing ionic columns.

Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1983

Location: South entrance of the Navarro County Courthouse, 300 West 3rd Ave., Corsicana, Texas.


The text of the historical markers have been posted here with the permission of the Texas Historical Commission

Navarro County TXGenWeb
Copyright March, 2009
Edward L. Williams & Barbara Knox